Redeem rewards · use code PALCODE: PAL
UP TO 25% OFF PROP FIRM ACCOUNTSCODE: PALEARN PAL POINTS ON QUALIFYING PURCHASES - REDEEM FOR REWARDSEARN PAL POINTS ON QUALIFYING PROP FIRM PURCHASES - REDEEM FOR REWARDSCODE: PAL
Prop Firm Pal
Prop Firm Pal

Unbiased Prop Firm Data, Reviews & Comparisons

Topstep Rules

Unverified
topstep.com

This prop firm is currently not listed on Prop Firm Pal. In the future this may change.

4.5

Based on 1 review

Topstep rules at a glance

Topstep's plans state a maximum drawdown of 3% to 4% of the account size (drawdown type: end-of-day), across 6 plans. A consistency rule applies: 55% in the Trading Combine (exceeding it raises the profit target); 40% for payouts on the XFA Consistency path, reset after each payout. News trading is conditional: allowed on all accounts, but purposefully trading your full Maximum Position Size into a scheduled major news event is prohibited; news slippage is not eligible for exceptions or Reset credits.

Compiled from 30 of Topstep's own published pages, read on 13 September 2026. Not verified by Prop Firm Pal: every value is what Topstep states about itself, quoted with the page it came from. A firm can change its rules at any time, so check the linked page before you pay for an account.

Topstep drawdown rules

Topstep's plans state a maximum drawdown of 3% to 4% of the account size (drawdown type: end-of-day), across 6 plans.

A daily loss limit figure is not recorded in the plan details we hold. The firm may still set one, so check its rules page rather than assuming there is none.

Dollar amounts are the published percentage applied to the account size.

Plan

Account size

Max drawdown

Drawdown type

Daily loss limit

Profit target

Trading Combine (Standard path, monthly)

Account size

$50K

Max drawdown

4% ($2,000)

Drawdown type

End-of-day

Daily loss limit

—

Profit target

6%

Trading Combine (Standard path, monthly)

Account size

$100K

Max drawdown

3% ($3,000)

Drawdown type

End-of-day

Daily loss limit

—

Profit target

6%

Trading Combine (Standard path, monthly)

Account size

$150K

Max drawdown

3% ($4,500)

Drawdown type

End-of-day

Daily loss limit

—

Profit target

6%

Trading Combine (No Activation Fee path, monthly)

Account size

$50K

Max drawdown

4% ($2,000)

Drawdown type

End-of-day

Daily loss limit

—

Profit target

6%

Trading Combine (No Activation Fee path, monthly)

Account size

$100K

Max drawdown

3% ($3,000)

Drawdown type

End-of-day

Daily loss limit

—

Profit target

6%

Trading Combine (No Activation Fee path, monthly)

Account size

$150K

Max drawdown

3% ($4,500)

Drawdown type

End-of-day

Daily loss limit

—

Profit target

6%

In Topstep's words

Plan figures: “No Activation Fee Path: Higher monthly cost. No fee when you pass.” help.topstep.com/…/14289835-topstep-pricing-and-payment-questions

Topstep consistency rule

A consistency rule caps how much of your total profit a single trading day may account for. Here is what Topstep states.

Rule

What Topstep states

Consistency limit

What Topstep states

55%

Consistency rule

What Topstep states

Applies — 55% in the Trading Combine (exceeding it raises the profit target); 40% for payouts on the XFA Consistency path, reset after each payout

In Topstep's words

Consistency limit: “Your single best day of profit must stay at or below 55% of your Profit Target.” help.topstep.com/…/8284208-consistency-at-topstep

Topstep minimum trading days and time limit

Rule

What Topstep states

Minimum trading days

What Topstep states

Applies — At least 2 days to pass the Trading Combine; 5 winning days of $150+ per payout on XFA Standard and Live, 3 trading days on XFA Consistency

In the plan figures

What Topstep states

2 days

Time limit

What Topstep states

None — No time limit; the Trading Combine rebills every 30 days until you pass or cancel

In Topstep's words

Minimum trading days: “You can pass in as few as 2 days, as long as no single day exceeds 55% of your total profit and your Profit Target is met.” help.topstep.com/…/8284208-consistency-at-topstep

Time limit: “No time limit for passing.” help.topstep.com/…/8284121-trading-combine-subscriptions

Topstep news trading, EA and copy trading rules

Rule

What Topstep states

News trading

What Topstep states

Conditional — Allowed on all accounts, but purposefully trading your full Maximum Position Size into a scheduled major news event is prohibited; news slippage is not eligible for exceptions or Reset credits

Expert advisors and automated trading

What Topstep states

Conditional — Permitted, without support or exceptions for malfunctions; automated trading via the ProjectX API is prohibited in the Live Funded Account; orders may not be placed from a VPS, VPN or remote server

Copy trading

What Topstep states

Conditional — Trade copier across your own Express Funded Accounts up to $750K buying power; coordinated trading with others is prohibited

Hedging

What Topstep states

Conditional — Opposite positions in the same or correlated instruments across accounts (e.g. MES/ES) are prohibited on Trading Combine, Express and Live accounts; hedging within one account is not addressed

Martingale and grid strategies

What Topstep states

Not stated on the pages we read

High-frequency and latency arbitrage

What Topstep states

Not permitted

In Topstep's words

News trading: “Topstep doesn't require you to flatten positions during economic releases — in SIM or Funded Accounts.” help.topstep.com/…/8284211-economic-releases

Expert advisors and automated trading: “Automated strategies are permitted, but Topstep cannot help set them up or troubleshoot them.” help.topstep.com/…/10657969-live-funded-account-parameters

Copy trading: “Yes, up to $750K buying power using a trade copier.” help.topstep.com/…/8284215-express-funded-account-parameters

Hedging: “Cross-account hedging is prohibited at Topstep.” help.topstep.com/…/13747047-understanding-hedging

High-frequency and latency arbitrage: “Custom automated strategies and bots are allowed via the TopstepX / ProjectX API, subject to standard platform rules and our prohibition on highfrequency trading (HFT).” help.topstep.com/…/11187768-topstepx-api-access

Topstep weekend and overnight holding

Rule

What Topstep states

Weekend holding

What Topstep states

Not permitted

Overnight holding

What Topstep states

Not permitted

Trading hours

What Topstep states

Sunday 5:00 PM CT to Friday 3:10 PM CT; all positions closed by 3:10 PM CT each weekday, reopening at 5:00 PM CT

In Topstep's words

Weekend holding: “All positions must be closed by 3:10 PM CT every weekday.” help.topstep.com/…/8284206-when-and-what-products-can-i-trade

Overnight holding: “Topstep does not permit holding positions from one session to the next.” help.topstep.com/…/8284206-when-and-what-products-can-i-trade

Trading hours: “All positions must be closed by 3:10 PM CT every weekday.” help.topstep.com/…/8284206-when-and-what-products-can-i-trade

Topstep scaling plan

In the Express Funded Account, maximum contracts rise with the account balance and only from the next session; the Live Funded Account uses Dynamic Live Risk Expansion instead.

Rule

What Topstep states

Largest account size

What Topstep states

$150,000

Maximum allocation

What Topstep states

$750,000

In Topstep's words

Scaling plan: “It sets your Maximum Position Size — the max contracts you can hold at one time — based on your current account balance.” help.topstep.com/…/8284223-what-is-the-scaling-plan

Largest account size: “Your buying power is still the full account size (50K, 100K, or 150K).” help.topstep.com/…/8284215-express-funded-account-parameters

Maximum allocation: “Yes, up to $750K buying power using a trade copier.” help.topstep.com/…/8284215-express-funded-account-parameters

Other Topstep account rules

Rule

What Topstep states

Maximum number of accounts

What Topstep states

Applies — Up to 5 active Express Funded Accounts and 1 Live Funded Account (all XFAs close on call-up); no limit on Trading Combines; 1 $50K account on the Focused Trader Program

Prohibited instruments

What Topstep states

Conditional — Listed CME Group futures only, no forex; holding a position within 2% of a product's price limit is prohibited

Account sharing

What Topstep states

Not permitted

Inactivity

What Topstep states

Express Funded and Live Funded Accounts with no trading activity for more than 30 days may be closed

Resets

What Topstep states

A Reset returns an active Trading Combine to its starting balance, costs the same as the monthly price, is limited to 2 per account per day and pushes the rebill date out 30 days; each monthly rebill adds 1 Reset credit

In Topstep's words

Maximum number of accounts: “You can hold up to 5 active XFAs at a time.” help.topstep.com/…/8284215-express-funded-account-parameters

Prohibited instruments: “Topstep is a Futures-only program.” help.topstep.com/…/8284206-when-and-what-products-can-i-trade

Account sharing: “Trading on behalf of others — including sharing incentives as part of any business arrangement” help.topstep.com/…/10296582-prohibited-conduct

Inactivity: “XFAs with no trading activity for more than 30 days may be closed.” help.topstep.com/…/8284215-express-funded-account-parameters

Resets: “Limit : 2 Resets per account each day.” help.topstep.com/…/8284128-what-is-a-reset

Not found on Topstep's pages

These were not stated on the pages of Topstep's site we read. They may be published somewhere we did not look, which makes them the questions to put to its support desk before paying.

the contract limits at each balance tier of the Express Funded Account scaling plan

whether hedging within a single account is allowed

whether martingale or grid strategies are allowed

the amount of the Responsible Trading Discount on Express Funded Account activations, which the pricing page names without a figure

FAQs

What are Topstep's drawdown rules?

Topstep's plans state a maximum drawdown of 3% to 4% of the account size (drawdown type: end-of-day), across 6 plans.

Does Topstep have a consistency rule?

Yes. 55% in the Trading Combine (exceeding it raises the profit target); 40% for payouts on the XFA Consistency path, reset after each payout.

Does Topstep have a scaling plan?

Yes. In the Express Funded Account, maximum contracts rise with the account balance and only from the next session; the Live Funded Account uses Dynamic Live Risk Expansion instead.

Does Topstep allow news trading?

Only under conditions. Allowed on all accounts, but purposefully trading your full Maximum Position Size into a scheduled major news event is prohibited; news slippage is not eligible for exceptions or Reset credits.

Does Topstep allow EAs and automated trading?

Only under conditions. Permitted, without support or exceptions for malfunctions; automated trading via the ProjectX API is prohibited in the Live Funded Account; orders may not be placed from a VPS, VPN or remote server.

Prev
1
2
Next

Stay Ahead in Prop Trading

Compare verified firms, grab exclusive deals, and enter free challenge giveaways up to $200K.

All information provided on this site is intended solely for educational purposes related to trading on financial markets and does not serve in any way as a specific investment recommendation, business recommendation, investment opportunity analysis, or similar general recommendation regarding the trading of investment instruments.

Prop Firm Pal provides comparison, review, and educational resources only. We do not operate as a proprietary trading firm, broker, or custodian, do not offer simulated trading accounts or evaluations, and do not provide execution or custody of funds.

The information on this site is not directed at residents in any country or jurisdiction where such distribution or use would be contrary to local laws or regulations.

Prop Firm Pal does not act as a broker and does not accept any deposits.

Data, tools, and third-party references on this site are provided for informational purposes; availability and accuracy may depend on third-party sources outside our control.

© 2026 Prop Firm Pal. All rights reserved.