Redeem rewards · use code PALCODE: PAL
UP TO 25% OFF PROP FIRM ACCOUNTSCODE: PALEARN PAL POINTS ON QUALIFYING PURCHASES - REDEEM FOR REWARDSEARN PAL POINTS ON QUALIFYING PROP FIRM PURCHASES - REDEEM FOR REWARDSCODE: PAL
Prop Firm Pal
Prop Firm Pal

Unbiased Prop Firm Data, Reviews & Comparisons

FTMO Rules

Unverified
ftmo.com

This prop firm is currently not listed on Prop Firm Pal. In the future this may change.

4.2

Based on 18 reviews

FTMO rules at a glance

FTMO's plans state a maximum drawdown of 10% of the account size (drawdown type: static and end-of-day), across 10 plans. A consistency rule applies: best Day Rule of 50% on the 1-Step challenge and the 1-Step FTMO Account, to pass and to withdraw a Reward; none on the 2-Step. News trading is conditional: unrestricted during the evaluation and on Swing accounts; on a Standard FTMO Account no trades may be opened or closed on affected instruments from 2 minutes before to 2 minutes after selected news.

Compiled from 28 of FTMO's own published pages, read on 13 September 2026. Not verified by Prop Firm Pal: every value is what FTMO states about itself, quoted with the page it came from. A firm can change its rules at any time, so check the linked page before you pay for an account.

FTMO drawdown rules

FTMO's plans state a maximum drawdown of 10% of the account size (drawdown type: static and end-of-day), across 10 plans.

A daily loss limit of 3% to 5% is stated on 10 of 10 plans; where a plan shows a dash, no daily figure is recorded for it.

Dollar amounts are the published percentage applied to the account size.

Plan

Account size

Max drawdown

Drawdown type

Daily loss limit

Profit target

FTMO Challenge: 2-Step

Account size

10,000 EUR

Max drawdown

10% (1,000 EUR)

Drawdown type

Static

Daily loss limit

5% (500 EUR)

Profit target

10%

FTMO Challenge: 2-Step

Account size

25,000 EUR

Max drawdown

10% (2,500 EUR)

Drawdown type

Static

Daily loss limit

5% (1,250 EUR)

Profit target

10%

FTMO Challenge: 2-Step

Account size

50,000 EUR

Max drawdown

10% (5,000 EUR)

Drawdown type

Static

Daily loss limit

5% (2,500 EUR)

Profit target

10%

FTMO Challenge: 2-Step

Account size

100,000 EUR

Max drawdown

10% (10,000 EUR)

Drawdown type

Static

Daily loss limit

5% (5,000 EUR)

Profit target

10%

FTMO Challenge: 2-Step

Account size

200,000 EUR

Max drawdown

10% (20,000 EUR)

Drawdown type

Static

Daily loss limit

5% (10,000 EUR)

Profit target

10%

FTMO Challenge: 1-Step

Account size

10,000 EUR

Max drawdown

10% (1,000 EUR)

Drawdown type

End-of-day

Daily loss limit

3% (300 EUR)

Profit target

10%

FTMO Challenge: 1-Step

Account size

25,000 EUR

Max drawdown

10% (2,500 EUR)

Drawdown type

End-of-day

Daily loss limit

3% (750 EUR)

Profit target

10%

FTMO Challenge: 1-Step

Account size

50,000 EUR

Max drawdown

10% (5,000 EUR)

Drawdown type

End-of-day

Daily loss limit

3% (1,500 EUR)

Profit target

10%

FTMO Challenge: 1-Step

Account size

100,000 EUR

Max drawdown

10% (10,000 EUR)

Drawdown type

End-of-day

Daily loss limit

3% (3,000 EUR)

Profit target

10%

FTMO Challenge: 1-Step

Account size

200,000 EUR

Max drawdown

10% (20,000 EUR)

Drawdown type

End-of-day

Daily loss limit

3% (6,000 EUR)

Profit target

10%

In FTMO's words

Plan figures: “One-time refundable fee from” ftmo.com/…/en

FTMO consistency rule

A consistency rule caps how much of your total profit a single trading day may account for. Here is what FTMO states.

Rule

What FTMO states

Consistency limit

What FTMO states

50%

Consistency rule

What FTMO states

Applies — Best Day Rule of 50% on the 1-Step challenge and the 1-Step FTMO Account, to pass and to withdraw a Reward; none on the 2-Step

In FTMO's words

Consistency limit: “the Best Day Rule requires that your Best Day does not represent more than 50% of your Positive Days’ Profit” ftmo.com/…/trading-objectives

FTMO minimum trading days and time limit

Rule

What FTMO states

Minimum trading days

What FTMO states

Applies — 4 trading days in each 2-Step phase; none listed for the 1-Step or on the FTMO Account

In the plan figures

What FTMO states

4 days

Time limit

What FTMO states

None — No time limit; unlimited Trading Period on both challenges

In FTMO's words

Minimum trading days: “The Minimum Trading Days rule requires the trader to achieve at least 4 Trading Days.” ftmo.com/…/trading-objectives

Time limit: “No Time Limit” ftmo.com/…/challenge

FTMO news trading, EA and copy trading rules

Rule

What FTMO states

News trading

What FTMO states

Conditional — Unrestricted during the evaluation and on Swing accounts; on a Standard FTMO Account no trades may be opened or closed on affected instruments from 2 minutes before to 2 minutes after selected news

Expert advisors and automated trading

What FTMO states

Conditional — EAs and algorithmic trading are permitted; EAs causing more than 2,000 server requests per day are forbidden, and a third-party EA shared by other traders can breach the maximum capital allocation

Copy trading

What FTMO states

Conditional — Identical strategies across accounts count toward the $400,000 allocation limit; having a third party trade for you is forbidden

Hedging

What FTMO states

Conditional — Opposite positions across connected accounts, other providers or other people are forbidden; allowed within a single account, but not to spread profit around the Best Day Rule

Martingale and grid strategies

What FTMO states

Not stated on the pages we read

High-frequency and latency arbitrage

What FTMO states

Not permitted

In FTMO's words

News trading: “Restrictions for trading during selected news releases apply only to the Standard account type .” ftmo.com/…/can-i-trade-news

Expert advisors and automated trading: “If your EA causes hyperactivity to a platform server, we might alert you and ask you to adjust the EA logic or parameters of your strategy.” ftmo.com/…/which-instruments-can-i-trade-and-what-strategies-am-i-allowed-to-use

Copy trading: “If identically traded strategies are detected across multiple FTMO accounts and the total fictitious capital exceeds the maximum capital allocation limit, FTMO reserves the right to suspend the affected accounts.” ftmo.com/…/how-many-accounts-can-i-have

Hedging: “simultaneously entering into opposite positions (with the exception of entering into such positions on a single simulated account);” ftmo.com/…/forbidden-trading-practices

High-frequency and latency arbitrage: “knowingly or unknowingly use trading strategies that exploit errors in our Services, such as errors in the display of prices or delays in their updates, or an external or slow data feed;” ftmo.com/…/forbidden-trading-practices

FTMO weekend and overnight holding

Rule

What FTMO states

Weekend holding

What FTMO states

Conditional — Allowed during the evaluation and on Swing accounts; Standard FTMO Accounts must close positions before the weekend

Overnight holding

What FTMO states

Conditional — Standard FTMO Accounts must close positions when the market break lasts longer than 2 hours; no restriction during the evaluation or on Swing accounts

In FTMO's words

Weekend holding: “Once you become an FTMO Trader and start trading on an FTMO Account, you are required to close your positions shortly before the markets close for the weekend or if the rollover (market break) lasts longer than 2 hours.” ftmo.com/…/do-i-have-to-close-my-positions-overnight-or-before-the-weekend

Overnight holding: “Overnight and weekend position restrictions apply only to the Standard account type .” ftmo.com/…/do-i-have-to-close-my-positions-overnight-or-before-the-weekend

FTMO scaling plan

25% balance increase every 4 months up to $2,000,000 across all FTMO Accounts, with a 90% reward share on the 2-Step; requires 4 months as an FTMO Trader, at least 10% net profit and at least 2 processed Rewards in that period.

Rule

What FTMO states

Largest account size

What FTMO states

$200,000

Maximum allocation

What FTMO states

$400,000

In FTMO's words

Scaling plan: “Enjoy account size growth of 25% every 4 months, up to the maximum limit of $2,000,000 (across all your FTMO Accounts).” ftmo.com/…/reward-growth-and-scaling-plan

Largest account size: “With FTMO, you can trade up to $200,000 on an FTMO Account.” ftmo.com/…/challenge

Maximum allocation: “At any given time, the total capital allocation across all accounts is limited to $400,000 per trader or strategy (prior to any scaling).” ftmo.com/…/how-many-accounts-can-i-have

Other FTMO account rules

Rule

What FTMO states

Maximum number of accounts

What FTMO states

Applies — No limit on the number of accounts; total capital capped at $400,000 per trader or strategy before scaling, and multiple registrations are not permitted

Prohibited instruments

What FTMO states

Not stated on the pages we read

Account sharing

What FTMO states

Conditional — Prohibited for individuals; a legal-entity client may share access only with top management

In FTMO's words

Maximum number of accounts: “There is no limit to the number of accounts you may have.” ftmo.com/…/how-many-accounts-can-i-have

Account sharing: “You must not allow any third party to access or otherwise use your FTMO Account or your FTMO Challenge/Verification account, nor engage or cooperate with any third party in order to have such a third party perform simulated trades for you or in coordination with you;” ftmo.com/…/forbidden-trading-practices

Not found on FTMO's pages

These were not stated on the pages of FTMO's site we read. They may be published somewhere we did not look, which makes them the questions to put to its support desk before paying.

whether martingale or grid strategies are allowed

which instruments, if any, are prohibited

FAQs

What are FTMO's drawdown rules?

FTMO's plans state a maximum drawdown of 10% of the account size (drawdown type: static and end-of-day), across 10 plans.

Does FTMO have a consistency rule?

Yes. Best Day Rule of 50% on the 1-Step challenge and the 1-Step FTMO Account, to pass and to withdraw a Reward; none on the 2-Step.

Does FTMO have a scaling plan?

Yes. 25% balance increase every 4 months up to $2,000,000 across all FTMO Accounts, with a 90% reward share on the 2-Step; requires 4 months as an FTMO Trader, at least 10% net profit and at least 2 processed Rewards in that period.

Does FTMO allow news trading?

Only under conditions. Unrestricted during the evaluation and on Swing accounts; on a Standard FTMO Account no trades may be opened or closed on affected instruments from 2 minutes before to 2 minutes after selected news.

Does FTMO allow EAs and automated trading?

Only under conditions. EAs and algorithmic trading are permitted; EAs causing more than 2,000 server requests per day are forbidden, and a third-party EA shared by other traders can breach the maximum capital allocation.

Prev
1
2
Next

Stay Ahead in Prop Trading

Compare verified firms, grab exclusive deals, and enter free challenge giveaways up to $200K.

All information provided on this site is intended solely for educational purposes related to trading on financial markets and does not serve in any way as a specific investment recommendation, business recommendation, investment opportunity analysis, or similar general recommendation regarding the trading of investment instruments.

Prop Firm Pal provides comparison, review, and educational resources only. We do not operate as a proprietary trading firm, broker, or custodian, do not offer simulated trading accounts or evaluations, and do not provide execution or custody of funds.

The information on this site is not directed at residents in any country or jurisdiction where such distribution or use would be contrary to local laws or regulations.

Prop Firm Pal does not act as a broker and does not accept any deposits.

Data, tools, and third-party references on this site are provided for informational purposes; availability and accuracy may depend on third-party sources outside our control.

© 2026 Prop Firm Pal. All rights reserved.